Welcome to!
The website devoted to preserving the history of Australian wrestling.

We're in the process of renovating and moving some things around so some things may look a little strange but the aim is to minimise disruption.

This website was designed in 2012 with a scope of covering present and past wrestling in Australia.
The scope will change to prioritise the older stuff and make that a bit more accessible.

Thank you for your patience.

I also have another website (with my good buddy Greg) The Wrestling Roadshow which has more of a global scope. We have a podcast by the same name too and discuss all sorts of wrestling.


Australian Wrestling on

youtube   facebook 

Australian Heavyweight Championship

1880< Prof. William Miller
1885/09/26 Clarence Wistler
1915 Vacant/Abandoned
      Wistler died
1903/05/02 Buttan Singh
Melbourne, Victoria
1906/11/19 Clarence Weber Melbourne, Victoria
1915 Vacant
      Weber retired
1922/11/22 Billy Meeske
      Defeated Joe Bailey in a tournament final
Melbourne, Victoria
1923/09/01 Clarence Weber (2) Melbourne, Victoria
1926/09/18 Billy Meeske (2) Melbourne, Victoria
1933/03/18 Joe Dawson Brisbane, Queensland
1933/04/15 Billy Meeske (3)
      Ordered to defend title at Raychard Stadium in 33, but refused
Brisbane, Queensland


Tom Lurich
      Defeates Bonny Muir to win the Raychard Stadum version after Meeske refuses to defend the title. Eddie Scurff defeates Jim Barlett in tournament final to win the Stadium Limited version in 38 and defend it at least until 41 (Meeske loses in earlier round. Leo Demetral claims the title in 38.

1939/12/09 George Pencheff
      Still recognised as champion of 47; Fred Atkins defeates Leo Demetral to claim the title in 40; Pencheff defeates Atkins on 40/12/07 in Broken Hill ot unify the two versions
Sydney, New South Wales
1942/10/10 Fred Atkins
      Defeated Pat Meehan in a tournament final and left the country in 1949
Sydney, New South Wales
1952/12/03< Leo Jensen
1955 George Pencheff (2)
      Returned from overseas and claimed the title
1957/02/04 Baron Von Heczy Adelaide, South Australia
1962/04/14 Kangaroo Kennedy Newcastle, New South Wales
1965/05< Brian Ashby
1956/05/07 Larry O'Dea Sydney, New South Wales
1967/01/28 Billy White Wolf [Adnon Kaissey] Melbourne, Victoria
1967/02/11 Vacant
White Wolf won the IWA World title